Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Emma Chapman And Carol Allers Named To LEC All-Conference First Team For The Fourth Straight Year

Emma Chapman And Carol Allers Named To LEC All-Conference First Team For The Fourth Straight Year

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – The Little East Conference (LEC) announced its 2019 women's tennis postseason awards Wednesday following a vote of the league's head coaches. Western Connecticut State University senior Emma Chapman (Danbury, CT) and graduate student-athlete Carole Allers (Wilton, CT) reaped First-Team honors. 

For the fourth-consecutive year, Chapman was one of six to be honored on this year's Singles First Team and joins Allers as one of three pairs honored on the LEC Doubles First Team.

Chapman went 9-6 as the Colonials' number one singles players in her final season.  She and Allers teamed up to go 12-3 overall at the top-flight doubles, including a 7-2 record during LEC play in their final season.

WestConn went 6-10 overall and 4-5 in the conference and appeared in the league post-season tournament for the first time since 2010.

2019 LEC regular season and tournament champion Rhode Island College swept the major awards, and accounted for a 11 of the 24 total all-conference selections between singles and doubles play.

RIC freshman Jenna Lisi was named the 2019 LEC Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year after going undefeated at No. 1 singles in conference play. She was 6-0 at the top of the order in league play after going 3-0 at No. 2 to open the year. The Cranston, Rhode Island native was one of the seven Anchorwomen to be named a first or second team all-LEC selection.  

Lisi's overall record in singles play is 14-1 so far this season, with her lone loss coming against NCAA Division II Franklin Pierce University. She is additionally 15-1 in doubles play during her first collegiate season, which includes a 13-1 mark at No. 1 and has seen her play alongside five different teammates.

Spring was named the LEC Coach of the Year for the third consecutive year and for the fifth time overall during his eight-year tenure guiding Rhode Island College. The Anchorwomen were a near-perfect 15-1 during the regular season and were undefeated in LEC matches, dropping just five points in league play this season.

The Anchorwomen became the second program in LEC history to win three consecutive tournament championships after sweeping UMass Boston and Plymouth State University on their way to the 2019 LEC title, and are the first to accomplish that feat in the current team tournament format that began in 2008. RIC has won 32 consecutive LEC regular season and tournament matches, with its last loss to a LEC opponent coming in the 2016 Little East tournament final.

The complete all-conference listing is listed below. 

2019 LEC Women's Tennis All-Conferernce Awards

Player of the Year Jenna Lisi Rhode Island College  
Rookie of the Year Jenna Lisi Rhode Island College  
Coach of the Year Adam Spring Rhode Island College  
First Team All-Conference
Singles Jenna Lisi   Rhode Island College
Singles Anastasia Startseva   Salem State
Singles Lauren Morgart   UMass Dartmouth
Singles Amy Drame   UMass Boston
Singles Casey Burns   Rhode Island College
Singles Emma Chapman   Western Connecticut
Doubles Meredith MacDonald Anastasia Startseva Salem State
Doubles Casey Burns Jenna Lisi Rhode Island College
Doubles Carole Allers Emma Chapman Western Connecticut
Second Team All-Conference
Singles Dominique Alves   Worcester State
Singles Grace Zangari   Rhode Island College
Singles Lauren Taylor   Worcester State
Singles Hailey Raskob   Rhode Island College
Singles Michaela Burr   Rhode Island College
Singles Sailor Nordstrom   Bridgewater State
Doubles Amy Drame Katie Gauthier UMass Boston
Doubles Michaela Burr Emily Orticerio Rhode Island College
Doubles Laurel Ten Eyck Grace Zangari Rhode Island College
Doubles Dominique Alves Lauren Taylor Worcester State